Karin Renkema  Identity Verified
Netherlands
Local time: 22:54
Member (2023)
English to Dutch
+ ...
Feb 2, 2023

Hello fellow linguists,

I am a freelance translator working from the Netherlands. I've come across quite a few platforms that have multiple headquarters or offices. For instance getblend, to name just one.

For tax purposes, it's easiest to work for companies who are based in Europe, as there is this rule that you can earn money by working for countries within the EU and in this case you calculate the taxes for Europe. I am not sure I am phrasing it correctly; I am not
... See more
Hello fellow linguists,

I am a freelance translator working from the Netherlands. I've come across quite a few platforms that have multiple headquarters or offices. For instance getblend, to name just one.

For tax purposes, it's easiest to work for companies who are based in Europe, as there is this rule that you can earn money by working for countries within the EU and in this case you calculate the taxes for Europe. I am not sure I am phrasing it correctly; I am not a financial guru at all, but this is what I understand from how it currently works.

I was wondering if the same rule applies for countries who have several headquarters all over the world.
For example, if a company is by origin Chinese but they have headquarters overseas, in Russia, Romania, Italy, etc.
Can you then for your own country take the closest one (for instance an Italy office) and have that count as the headquarters that you can take into account when doing your taxes? So that you can count the taxes for Europe for this company? Or does it not work that way?

Are there any EU translators that have experience with working for non-EU companies? And if so, what is your experience and how do manage this taxwise?

Hope my questions are clear. Any help would be appreciated!

PS: not sure in which category this message should be.
Collapse

Susannah Wolley Dod

Renée van Bijsterveld