Mark Harris
Mark Harris
France
Local time: 12:59
French to English
+ ...
Jul 24, 2019

Hi Everyone,

I'm looking for some advice from all you helpful people if possible. I am just starting out in my translation career having finished my BA in French and Spanish a few months ago. I have recently enquired about working with a academic proofreading agency who proofread academic work for foreign students. They have asked me to proofread a 500 word file as a test of my ability and inform them of my expected rate per 1000 words. The problem is that I am really at a loss as t
... See more
Hi Everyone,

I'm looking for some advice from all you helpful people if possible. I am just starting out in my translation career having finished my BA in French and Spanish a few months ago. I have recently enquired about working with a academic proofreading agency who proofread academic work for foreign students. They have asked me to proofread a 500 word file as a test of my ability and inform them of my expected rate per 1000 words. The problem is that I am really at a loss as to what to suggest for a rate, as there seems to be a lot of differing information online, and this type of work is quite new to me. Does anyone have any suggestions?

I was initially thinking around £15/1000 words, but I have seen some online academic proofreading agencies who offer this price directly to the end user, so perhaps that would be overly ambitious.

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks,

Mark
Collapse

Elizabeth Tamblin
Elizabeth Tamblin  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Local time: 11:59
French to English
Hi Mark Jul 24, 2019

I think proofreading is usually paid on an hourly basis, at least in my experience. For instance, I did a one-hour proofreading job last week for 25 euros.