Need help regarding fees of inherent translation activities
Thread poster: Maximiliano Jara
Sep 30, 2022

Hi, I'm a translation student currently researching market managing. As said in the title, I need bits of information, mainly fees and personal experiences/preferences about inherent activities of translations, i.e: post-editing, checking the text for gramatical/redaction coherence, pdf editing, image editing etc., how these are made, if you include them directly on the translation quotation or count it as external job, ask for a different fee depending on the text and such.

I'd be
... See more
Hi, I'm a translation student currently researching market managing. As said in the title, I need bits of information, mainly fees and personal experiences/preferences about inherent activities of translations, i.e: post-editing, checking the text for gramatical/redaction coherence, pdf editing, image editing etc., how these are made, if you include them directly on the translation quotation or count it as external job, ask for a different fee depending on the text and such.

I'd be glad if any of you could help me out, thank you in advance!
Collapse

Jocelyn Laney
Jocelyn Laney  Identity Verified
Japan
Local time: 07:11
Japanese to English
DTP Oct 1, 2022

Self-check of documents and running QA in Memsource is part of normal translation and is not charged extra. Likewise, work responding to comments and corrections made by another translator/editor is not paid extra.

Most of my work comes through agencies, and only the careful and high-level agency has ever offered a surcharge for fixing layout (DTP: desktop publishing) in PPT after translation. It's mostly adjusting font sizes and text box widths. Sometimes I have to add a text box t
... See more
Self-check of documents and running QA in Memsource is part of normal translation and is not charged extra. Likewise, work responding to comments and corrections made by another translator/editor is not paid extra.