Do you charge late fee for delayed payments? If yes, how much. and how to mention it in invoice?
Thread poster: Supriya Dixit
Supriya Dixit
Supriya Dixit
India
Local time: 07:02
English to Hindi
+ ...
Oct 9, 2022

Hi All,
I am a freelancer working with English-Hindi and I have experienced some professional ghosting in the past. I researched on ways to avoid it, and one of them was to charge a late fee. So I just want to know, do you charge a late fee for delayed payments to avoid ghosting? If yes, how much? Is it to be mentioned in terms of percentage or some other way? And what is the best phrase to mention it in your invoice?

Maria Teresa Borges de Almeida
Maria Teresa Borges de Almeida  Identity Verified
Portugal
Local time: 02:32
Member (2007)
English to Portuguese
+ ...
. Oct 10, 2022

I haven’t had a single delayed payment for a long time. Most of my customers are repeat clients and pay like clockwork. There’s just a very sporadic client who is less punctual but pays the moment I send a reminder. With a new client we have to be explicit from the start: I always say that my payment terms are 30 days after invoice date by bank transfer or through Wise or TransferMate. I’d say that late fees in general are a waste of time, they are low, hard to enforce, can become an accou... See more
I haven’t had a single delayed payment for a long time. Most of my customers are repeat clients and pay like clockwork. There’s just a very sporadic client who is less punctual but pays the moment I send a reminder. With a new client we have to be explicit from the start: I always say that my payment terms are 30 days after invoice date by bank transfer or through Wise or TransferMate. I’d say that late fees in general are a waste of time, they are low, hard to enforce, can become an accounting nightmare and to top it up clients who don’t pay don’t care a dime about them…Collapse

Supriya Dixit
Christel Zipfel

jyuan_us
jyuan_us  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 21:32